Tuesday, November 13, 2007

This Faerie Series is a Frosty Treat

I am Meredith Gentry, princess and heir apparent to the throne in the realm of faerie, onetime private investigator in the mortal world. To be crowned queen, I must first continue the royal bloodline and give birth to an heir of my own. If I fail, my aunt, Queen Andais, will be free to do what she most desires: install her twisted son, Cel, as monarch... and kill me.

My royal guards surround me, and my best loved–my Darkness and my Killing Frost–are always beside me, sworn to protect and make love to me. But still the threat grows greater. For despite all my carnal efforts, I remain childless, while the machinations of my sinister, sadistic Queen and her confederates remain tireless. So my bodyguards and I have slipped back into Los Angeles, hoping to outrun the gathering shadows of court intrigue. But even exile isn’t enough to escape the grasp of those with dark designs.

Now King Taranis, powerful and vainglorious ruler of faerie’s Seelie Court, has leveled accusations against my noble guards of a heinous crime–and has gone so far as to ask the mortal authorities to prosecute. If he succeeds, my men face extradition to faerie and the hideous penalties that await them there. But I know that Taranis’s charges are baseless, and I sense that his true target is me. He tried to kill me when I was a child. Now I fear his intentions are far more terrifying.

A Lick of Frost is the sixth and current book in
Laurell K. Hamilton’s Merry series. There was never any doubt that I would love it but I think it surpassed even my expectations! I’m a huge fan of both of Hamilton’s series (the other being the Anita Blake) and I’m glad to report that the series doesn’t show any signs of slowing down or becoming predictable.

As with most of Laurell K. Hamilton’s stories; I can’t say too much about the book without giving away some major plot points. I will say that there are some major highs as well as major lows this time around and although I wasn’t too happy with how some things turned out, I think it was the best way to help the storyline continue to move along.

I do wish the Merry stories were a little longer and didn’t come out so far
apart because I have to say that waiting an entire year for the next installment is so frustrating! At least Ms. Hamilton does a great job of briefly helping the audience reacquaint itself with the characters and the current storyline without dragging it out or giving too much away for first-timers. The author and I agree that her series should be read in order though because you will be hopelessly lost if you don’t.

The Merry Gentry Series:
1. A Kiss of Shadows (2000)
2. A Caress of Twilight (2002)
3. Seduced By Moonlight (2004)
4. A Stroke of Midnight (2005)
5. Mistral's Kiss (2006)
6. A Lick of Frost (2007)
7. Swallowing Darkness (2008)
8. Divine Misdemeanors (2009)

Reminder: The pictures above are also links to more information about the series and an interview.

Author at Book Signing:

Related Reviews
Anita Blake Series:
1. Guilty Pleasures (1993)
2. The Laughing Corpse (1994)
3. Circus of the Damned (1995)
4. The Lunatic Café (1996)
5. Bloody Bones (1996)
6. The Killing Dance (1997)
7. Burnt Offerings (1998)
8. Blue Moon (1998)
9. Obsidian Butterfly (2000)
10. Narcissus in Chains (2001)
11. Cerulean Sins (2003)
12. Incubus Dreams (2004)
13. Micah (2006)
14. Danse Macabre (2006)
15. The Harlequin (2007)
16. Blood Noir (2008)
17. Skin Trade (2009)
18. Flirt (2010)
19. Bullet (2010)
20. Hit List (2011)


  1. Saw your post on Becky's blog. There is going to be an Inkheart movie in 2008. Here's the trailer:


  2. I have several of the books in this series that I picked up when I began the Anita Blake series. I've been hesitant to start on this one though because I've heard it's rather erotic at times, which isn't quite my thing. Still, I do want to give it a try one of these days. I'm glad to hear the series is still going strong with this latest book!

  3. Anita Blake and Merry are about even in terms of sex.

  4. In comparison to the books now or over the entire series?

  5. Over the entire series. Merry has magical sex and restores the sidhe to his powers (for example Rhys was once worshiped as a battle god & now he has obtained some of the things he used to could do like healing), Anita feeds the arduer through sex. Pretty close but some don't like how the sex is an essential part of the story.

  6. Great review, Ladytink! I wasn't too pleased with what you allude to, either, but I'm optimistic that things will work out for the best in the end. I was very happy about the way some of the other things turned out, though, weren't you? I was wondering how it could possible begin to work out, but Hamilton's done it again. Now if only she'd just write faster! :-)

  7. Lately all I do is "wait for the next book" to be release! Grrrr!

    However, I do love finding an older series when they are ALL out before I discover them! heh



Thank you so much for leaving me comments and coming by!

Don't forget to visit my other blog:
Up Close and Personal with LadyTink I'd love to hear your opinion or just "meet" you!

I do leave answers to your comments here.

Search This Blog